First major Sushi chain to make alcohol-free Sushi.
Chicken Katsu, and other chicken Panko items, are halal.
Partial halal menu with cross-contamination taken very seriously across all branches.
Full breakdown
Menu
Ingredients
Locations

Assessment

Date of first inspection: 20/02/2023 | Last update: 17/12/2023 | Physical site inspected: Soho Branch, Luton branch

Full Breakdown

General
Partial halal menu
Vegan options available
All branches follow same processes
Sushi is alcohol free- normally sushi rice contains Mirin (alcohol), however YouMeSushi use Rice Vinegar instead
Chicken panko across all sites is halal, which is used in their Chicken Katsu
Meat, Poultry & Seafood supply checks
Variety of fish & chicken on menu
Chicken gyoza are NOT halal
All chicken tempura is halal
Chicken is likely stunned (awaiting confirmation)
Chicken originates from Poland
Chicken is processed in the Netherlands
Certification available to view in store, or click here to view

Fish on menu includes:

Salmon

Tuna

Prawn

Freshwater Eel

Prawn

Fish Roe

Soft Shell Crab

All fish items are prepared in the same area, using same equipment. Therefore if your school of thought deems one fish type to be haram (e.g. prawn) then there is likelyhood of cross-contamination with other fish
Cross-contamination checks
LOW risk of cross-contamination with non-halal meats

Only non-halal meat is the chicken gyoza, which are externally supplied and come into stores packaged

 

Chicken gyoza are warmed in their own packaging in a microwave which is share with the prawn & vegetable gyoza

Halal chicken is stored in packaged boxes amongst fish products or vegetarian products
Chicken is fried in a separate fryer
Fish items fried separately
Vegan items fried separately
Items are generally kept separately and cross-contamination taken into account
All cutlery and dishware is disposable
Alcohol
No alcohol sold on premises
Kombucha is sold on site, which is a fermented drink with trace amounts of alcohol (<0.5%)
Premises
Music may be present on site
All sites have simple decor with no obscenities
Sites are geared for take-aways with limited seating

menu

Click here to view the menu for You Me Sushi

ingredient clarifications

ItemIngredient to note
Chicken GyozaChicken used in these is not halal
Teriyaki SauceTeriyaki sauce contains alcohol (Mirin)
EelEel is differed upon as to whether it is halal or not to consume
CrabCrab is differed upon as to whether it is halal or not to consume
PrawnPrawn is differed upon as to whether it is halal or not to consume
Sushi Rice

Sushi rice is halal as Rice Vinegar is used, NOT mirin

EelEel is marinaded in Soy Saucee
Poke BowlsYou can request these with no sesame sauce (the sesame sauce contains alcohol in the form of Mirin)
Miso SoupContains alcohol (Mirin)
Kick ass noodlesContains alcohol (Mirin)
Japanese chicken bowl & Spicy Japanese chickenContains alcohol (Mirin)

Leave A Comment

  1. Wui Chei September 6, 2023 at 7:48 pm - Reply

    10/10 Came here to eat on monday evening. I was very impressed by the customer service. The lady was very nice to talk to and recommended me a few sushi platters. Props to the chefs too. Will come back 100%!

    • hfladmin September 6, 2023 at 8:16 pm - Reply

      So glad you enjoyed! We love them- especially as they have gone through the effort to get halal friendly list certified and ensure they have halal options!

Related Posts

  • Continue reading
  • Continue reading
  • Continue reading